Examination of Conscience

We suggest reflecting on the following:

The Ten Commandments

  1. 1. I am the Lord your God: You shall not have strange gods before me.
  2. 2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  3. 3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s day.
  4. 4. Honor your father and your mother.
  5. 5. You shall not kill.
  6. 6. You shall not commit adultery.
  7. 7. You shall not steal.
  8. 8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  9. 9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.
  10. 10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

(Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2nd edition, pp. 496-7, cf. Ex. 20:2-17, cf. Dt. 5, 6-21).


The Beatitudes

  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
  2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  3. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
  4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
  5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
  6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
  8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  9. Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you (Mt. 5:3-12).


The Seven Capital Sins

 The seven capital or root sins: pride, avarice (greed), envy, wrath, lust, gluttony, and sloth. “They are called ‘capital’ because they engender other sins, other vices” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, n. 1866). “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble” (Jas. 4:6).